Mystery washed ashore

Here’s an item from the childhood treasure box that has been a mystery most of my life:

20110919-120850.jpg

It’s a stone with a hole in it. I picked it up on a beach somewhere (I don’t remember where), so it became part of my sea glass collection (see my post about sea glass). The hole is perfectly symmetrical. While the stone looks like it was subject to erosion, and I’ve seen sea shells with holes in them, the hole in this stone is too perfect and looks man-made rather than nature-made. But nature IS capable of symmetry, so I’m stymied.  What the heck is this, and how was it formed?

The Oxford Dictionary of English Folklore says that pebbles with holes in them protect against witchcraft. Good to know…but I still want to know how it was formed.

Leave a Reply

