Kitschen Kitsch Day 3: Fruit

Vegetable salt and pepper shakers led to the inevitable fruit salt and pepper shakers. The strawberries were also the same red as the tomatoes, so at this point the addition was rationalized purely as a nice little colour hit for my dull kitchen.

These strawberries are the size of actual strawberries. This set also has a tiny sugar bowl, but it lost its lid. And, I’m imagining, a very, very tiny matching sugar spoon, although that might be stretching it a little. Anyway, it’s so small that it must be from some place that rationed sugar during the war.

The strawberries also almost led to a whole fruit-related sub-category, but I managed to stop myself. Tomorrow I’ll show you where I stopped.

Leave a Reply

